Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Have You Heard Anybody Pronounce Anime Title, Character Names, Etc. Wrong?
Fullmetal Alchemist Discussion Board > General Discussions > General Anime
Pages: 1, 2
animejunkie429800
i've heard the wierdest pronounciations ever 'cus my nickname is animejunkie. there's too much to list! just e-mail me if ur wondering.

sry! i'm new to polls ^0^;
Elderberry
...I think you messed up the poll a little...mellow.gif||

But yes, I hear mispronounciations all the time, and I tend to make a fuss over the proper pronounciations of names and such. sleep.gif It just...hurts my ears to hear them pronounced wrong...
animejunkie429800
yes, i suk! V.Vl l l *sigh* well, one of the most popular pronounciations is aEme... ^^;;; yes it suks.
mongooseboi
heh you probably should've make a no option. and no you dont suck animejunkie! everyone learns. to be honest, i dont make new topics because i dont know how to work the polls either *grin*
xrninja
i guess the "american" way of pronouncing it is "an-ih-may," the "an" rhyming with "fan," the "ih" pronounced like the "i" in "pissed," and "may" like the month. like "animation" with out the "-tion" sound. technically, it's wrong, but it seems to be pretty widely accepted as a pronounciation of the word, since that's what i hear the most.

i tried editing the polls a little, hopefully i got it somewhat like you originally wanted? biggrin.gif;;
Bling_bling_Angel
I've heard this one:

"Aye-nee-may"
Quistis88
I hate it when people make it plural by adding an S.

"animes"

Bah.
Bling_bling_Angel
XD!

Typical... sooo typical...
Toby-Chan
Well, the common convention is to pronounce it as "Anime", like "Animation" without the "Shun", and while that dosen't stick to the japanese katakana-ation of the word, it works well enough, since Anime is a borrow word in the first place.

Here's what bugs me; "Main-Gahs!"

dry.gif
Jen_Elric