Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What Makes FMA So Special From Other Manga?
Fullmetal Alchemist Discussion Board > Fullmetal Alchemist Discussions > Fullmetal Alchemist Manga
roJu
What makes FMA so special from other manga?!

newbie here(*chuckle*)

well, even in one of omake, even though FMA is a shonen manga,
there is not really much of a shonen manga qualities.
Other than hilarious gags and great storylines, FMA is so precious...

first, the main character is so- perfect.............except his height, of course.

Money, power, the look(*chuckle*), brain, body, friends(or not)

Most manga's(and anime, but since i'm talkin about FMA manga here... let's play fair, hehe)
characters struggle so much to gain all those, but look at Ed.

But even if he looks perfect, he has lost some very important things.
and 'that''s what he's trying to gain. Not many mangas starts with [perfect->lost->regain.]
Thay mostly starts from [lack but special->struggle->gain], I think, at least.
(or did i miss out on many anime and mangas,,)

And also, story evolves around, not around the main characters, but around enemies and the 'bad guys'.
Homuns, Father and all. Ed and Al, Roy and his fellas, thay are just part of the influences the enemy planted in.

I guess that reminds us again the one and only 'One is all, all is one', eh?

And Ed doesn't have many friends around his age except Winry, Lin and perhaps Ranfan,
but since Winry's a heroine, Lin turned into Greed, and Ranfan's more of a companion than friend,
I guess that makes Ed a loner(*chuckle*)

Also, we didn't see the heroines that often. Riza-sama didn't show up in a while,
Ranfan's been missing in our sights, and Winry just showed up at the last minute of chapter 68 and 69.
(Now since Winry's in Briggs, i think things are going to be more complicated... hands off, Kimbly)

and there is not much love-lines, but the couples have been decided, even by Arakawa sensei.